A photograph of Katie Steckles, the 2016 Josh Award winner

The Josh Award

The Josh Award is the UK’s national award in science communication, established to recognise and support up-and-coming talent in science communication. The award provides the opportunity to become the science communicator in residence at the Manchester Science Festival, developing and delivering a new project or event while showcasing best practice in the field of science communication.

The winner receives support to nurture their development in the field and their involvement in the Manchester Science Festival from the Festival team, the University of Salford’s Science Communication cluster, and the BIG STEM Communicators Network.


Josh Award 2017

We are proud to announce that Science Rapper Jon Chase has won the 2017 Josh Award. He’ll be creating an event for this year’s festival. Watch this space for more information or sign up to our newsletter for all the latest updates.

Previous winners

 2016 – Katie Steckles

Local mathematician Dr Katie Steckles won the 2016 Josh Award and was the Science Communicator in Residence at Manchester Science Festival 2016.

Steckles turned the museum into a giant hand-made, crowd-sourced image during the Festival. Her winning application had Festival visitors helping to colour thousands of individual ‘pixels’ that would make up a picture in one of the museum’s windows representing how digital devices such as computers, tablets, and phones display images.

The project also looked at the mathematics behind how devices store images as a series of numbers that create the different colours on screen. There was also a close-up look at the pixels in your own phone’s screen and a photo booth that transforms you into an Excel spreadsheet of colour values.

 2015 – Andy Miah

In 2015, Andy Miah brought a drone expo to the Museum of Science and Industry. The Revolution Manchester gallery at the museum was taken over as a fly zone for drones. People had a go at flying a drone to see how they actually fly and find out more about what drones can be used for.

Andy Miah is the chair of science communication at the University of Salford.

2014 – Sarah Bearchell

2013 – Aravind Vijayaraghavan

2011 – Matt Parker

2010 – Steve Cross

2009 – David Price

2008 – Karen Bultitude


The Josh Award 2016 press release can be downloaded here.