four robots on display in a glass case

Robots

The robots are coming.

In fact, the robots are already here.

We often think of robots as a modern invention, but we’ve been harnessing the power of robotics for more than 500 years. Get close to a unique collection of over 100 robots, from a 17th century dancing wine goblet and an animatronic baby, to Maria from 1927 film classic Metropolis and a news-reading android from Japan. Go behind the scenes and glimpse recent developments in robotic research, and discover how robots are being built to resemble us, interact with us and think like us. Robots explores our obsession with recreating ourselves in human form, and what it truly means to be a human in a robotic world.

Sponsor
Funder
With additional support from
Media partner

Dates

Thursday 19 October - Sunday 29 October 2017,
10am – 5pm

Save to my calendar

Venue

Museum of Science and Industry, Liverpool Road, Castlefield, Manchester, M3 4FP

See venue map and information

Booking required

£8 / £5 (concessions available, free for children 6 and under)

Thursday 19 October

Book now

Friday 20 October

Book now

Saturday 21 October

Book now

Sunday 22 October

Book now

Monday 23 October

Book now

Tuesday 24 October

Book now

Wednesday 25 October

Book now

Thursday 26 October

Book now

Friday 27 October

Book now

Saturday 28 October

Book now

Sunday 29 October

Book now

Age guidance

Adults and families 7+

< Back to what’s on